How much can I sue somebody for in small claims court?
In small claims court, you can sue for modest amounts of money.
The amount you can sue for is set by state law. In Oregon, for example, you can sue for up to $5,000. In Rhode Island, you can only sue for up to $1.500.
These limits change over time. Check with your local small claims court clerk or visit your state's small claims court website to find the current limit for your state.